The ‘Mensch’ of my life is Me (WT)

A documentary film by Christian Walther

“The first colonization in the history of mankind was that of women by men.”

“All common expressions (…) concerning coitus are brutal and contemptuous of women (drilling, chasing in, stabbing, tearing away)… the leftist jargon is no better: tail, pussy, fuck…”

Verena Stefan writes this in 1975. Her book “Häutungen” (Shedding) sells several hundred thousand copies, the author becomes famous, celebrated and is confronted with hostilities – even from her own ranks – and soon after retreats to the countryside. Later, she writes other books, among others about her mother and her grandfather. They are always very personal, but it is precisely for this reason that many people are able to follow on from the experiences and thoughts told by Verena Stefan.

The film “The ‘Mensch’ of My Life Is Me” tells Verena Stefan’s life with archived interviews and text passages from her works. In addition, we have extensive conversations with companion such as Cristina Perincioli in Berlin and Lise Moisan in Montréal.

We want to go back to the time when «Shedding» appeared. 1975 was the International Year of Women, but in Germany and Switzerland, women needed the permission of men to sign contracts. Abortion was forbidden. Behind the scenes there was a lot in motion: cultural, socio-political, sexual.

All these developments and experiences are reflected in the present, for example in the Swiss women’s strike in June 2019, and in the becoming and passing away of nature. Ultimately, the big question is: “How can I lead a self-determined life?

documentary film, 52min, SRF, Sternstunde Kunst

Written and directed by: Christian Walther
Cinematography: Daniel Leippert, Alexandra Czok, Rénald Bellemare
Sound:  Nadja Gubser, Olivier JeanRichard, Martyne Morin
music: Sandra Stadler
Editor:
Gisela Weibel
Grading: Christian Müller, Schnittplatz
Sound editing, mix: himex:sounddesign Peter von Siebenthal

Producer: Insertfilm AG, Pedro Haldemann
CoProduction:  SRF Sternstunde Kunst

Der Mensch meines Lebens bin ich (AT)

Ein Dokumentarfilm von Christian Walther

«Die erste kolonialisierung in der geschichte der menschheit war die der frauen durch die männer.» 

«Alle gängigen ausdrücke (…) die den koitus betreffen, sind brutal und frauenverachtend (bohren, reinjagen, stechen, verreissen)… der linke jargon ist nicht besser: schwanz, möse, bumsen…» 

Das schreibt Verena Stefan 1975. Ihr Buch «Häutungen» verkauft sich mehrere Hunderttausend Mal, die Autorin wird berühmt, gefeiert und angefeindet – auch aus den eigenen Reihen – und zieht sich bald darauf aufs Land zurück. Später schreibt sie andere Bücher, unter anderem über ihre Mutter und ihren Grossvater. Sie sind stets sehr persönlich, aber gerade deshalb können viele Menschen an die erzählten Erfahrungen und Gedanken Verena Stefans anknüpfen. 

Der Film «Der Mensch meines Lebens bin ich» erzählt Verena Stefans Leben mit archivierten Interviews und Textstellen aus ihren Werken. Dazu führen wir ausführliche Gespräche mit Weggefährtinnen wie Cristina Perincioli in Berlin und Lise Moisan in Montréal. 

Wir wollen uns in die Zeit zurückversetzen, als «Häutungen» erschien. 1975 war das internationale Jahr der Frau, aber in der BRD und der Schweiz brauchten die Frauen die Erlaubnis des Mannes, um Verträge zu unterschreiben. Der Schwangerschaftsabbruch war untersagt. Hinter den Kulissen war vieles in Bewegung: kulturell, gesellschaftspolitisch, sexuell. 

All diese Entwicklungen und Erfahrungen werden an der Gegenwart gespiegelt, zum Beispiel am Schweizer Frauenstreik im Juni 2019, und am Werden und Vergehen der Natur. Letztlich geht es um die grosse Frage: «Wie kann ich ein selbstbestimmtes Leben führen?»

Dokumentarfilm, 52min, SRF, Sternstunde Kunst

Buch und Regie: Christian Walther
Kamera: Daniel Leippert, Alexandra Czok, Rénald Bellemare
Ton: Nadja Gubser, Olivier JeanRichard, Martyne Morin
Musik: Sandra Stadler
Schnitt: Gisela Weibel
Grading: Christian Müller, Schnittplatz
Tonschnitt, Mischung: himex:sounddesign Peter von Siebenthal

Produzent: Insertfilm AG, Pedro Haldemann
Ko-Produktion:  SRF Sternstunde Kunst